How Talking About Our ‘Mental Health Crisis’ May Inadvertently Be Making It Worse

Alex Trauth-Goik
9 min readApr 1, 2024
Photo by Nick Bolton on Unsplash

A year ago, I was in a rough spot mentally. I’d just moved halfway across the world to a different country where I knew no one. My identity lagged behind the full-time research and lecturing position I’d attained at a prominent university, and I constantly felt myself an imposter. Beneath these surface level pain points, some issues from my family history and bitter high school experiences remained unresolved and gnawing at me.

After accepting the counsel of family and friends, I decided to speak about these issues with a therapist. I’d tried seeking help through therapy previously but had never gelled too well with the counsellors I’d encountered.

Admittedly, I never made it past the first one or two sessions.

This time, however, I was fortunate enough to meet a therapist online who I really connected with. They prompted me with good questions and encouraged me to dig a bit deeper for answers to my then predicament. In their company, I was able to arrest harmful self-beliefs I’d too easily allowed to ride around the merry-go-round of my monkey mind.

And so, I learned a lot through our weekly sessions. Yet after several months of digging through my past and exhuming some buried skeletons, I started to doubt whether the frequency at…

--

--

Alex Trauth-Goik

Here to share some words | Samurai who smells of sunflowers | PhD | China and tings