Four Reasons Brazilian Jiujitsu is So Wildly Fun and Addictive

The ‘Swiss army knife’ of human flourishing and well-being

Alex Trauth-Goik
9 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Photo by Nolan Kent on Unsplash

Coming from a long background in the martial arts, I have been training Brazilian jiujitsu for five and a half years now. I started with Wing Chun when I was 16, moved to mixed martial arts four years later at 21, and then shifted to jiujitsu when I was 24. During this time, I have been training consistently with an average of 5–6 sessions dedicated to my martial arts practice per week. I’ve taken part in kickboxing tournaments, cage fights, and now compete at a semi-professional level in jiujitsu, boasting a record of around 85 match wins at various events and competitions.

Having sampled the broad palette of the martial arts, I can say with conviction that I will stay with jiujitsu until I’m old and grey. This is because, in my humble opinion, jiujitsu offers several benefits other martial arts do not. It just so happens that these benefits also make it *extremely* addictive.

1. Rolling and Getting into the Flow

Unlike other martial arts, in jiujitsu, using your hands, feet, or any other body part to strike your opponent is strictly forbidden. Jiujitsu is a grappling martial art, meaning you use your limbs, weight, pressure, and leverage to…

--

--

Alex Trauth-Goik

Here to share some words | Samurai who smells of sunflowers | PhD | China and tings